Saturday, January 07, 2006
Pati Yang's "Silent Treatment" (PL)

Pati Yang was responsible for one of Poland's best records in 2005. "Silent Treatment", released on EMI Poland Music, delivers 11 songs, where downtempo beats get together with some heavy beats, all served with Pati's sweet voice.
After her debut record "Jaszczurka", she returned this time, with some special guests. Keith Tenniswood, of 2 Lone Swordmen, Stephen Hilton, Leo Abrahams and David Arnold gave their contribution to this record. The album was produced by Stephen Hilton, who has been working with Depeche Mode, Massive Attack, Moloko, The Pet Shop Boys, The John Spencer Blues Explosion, Craig Armstrong, among others.

Vocals remembering Martina Topley-Bird, Beth Gibbons or Roisin Murphy, the record is one of the best trip hop albums this year. Songs like "Soul for me", "Reverse the day", "All that is thirst" (in rotation now), "Pretty fin" takes us to the universes of Moloko, Beth Gibbons' "Out of Season", Golfrapp, Lamb or Hooverphonic.
When she was 18, she left to London. Since then, she's been working with David Holmes, David Arnold and Martina Topley-Bird. All these experiences led to "Silent Treatment". Her voice flows softly, sweetly, beats evolving from light moods to darker ones, sweet melodies, electronic beats on the run, well..... one of my favourites for 2005.
Her first single, airing On the speakers, is accompanied by a magnificent video, directed by Marta Pruska. The video can be seen here.

The cd listing:

1. Soul For Me
2. Reverse The Day
3. All That Is Thirst
4. Unquiet
5. Pretty Fin (Keith Tenniswood Mix)
6. 19:53 North West
7. Giant Cat Woman
8. Switch Off The Sun
9. 1986
10. Air Stands Still
11. Easy Flow


posted by SKL @ 4:57 PM  
Post a Comment
<< Home