Wednesday, May 10, 2006
Cibelle and the shining electric leaves (BR)

Who would guess electric leaves (!!!) do shine? Well, Cibelle did it....... and has chosen the best way to share it with us, on her new record.

"Shine Of The Electric Dried Leaves" is Cibelle's second album. After her self-titled debut album and the EP "About a girl", she's back with 14 new tracks on a quite captivating cd.

With the help of Devendra Banhart (London, London, a Caetano Veloso cover), Spleen (Mad Man Song) and Seu Jorge (Arrete la, Menina), Cibelle presents us with an album where jazz, pop, samba, bossa nova, blues meet and celebrate music altogether.

The records opens up with a superb version of Tom Wait's "Green Grass". The sound of the bandolino keeps us company while her sweet and unforgetable voice enchants us. The music continues then with such pearls as "London, London", "Arrete la, Menina" or "Minha Neguinha".

"The Shine of ...." together with Marisa Monte's "Infinito Particular" and "Universo ao Meu Redor" are among the best music to be released this year by Brazilian artists.

You can listen to some tracks on her Myspace or right here. "Green Grass" can be found on the "La la la la la" section.

Album tracklist and previews:

01 - Green Grass
02 - Instante De Dois
03 - Phoenix
04 - London, London (with Devendra Banhart)
05 - City People
06 - Minha Neguinha
07 - Mad Man Song (with Spleen)
08 - Por Toda Minha Vida
09 - Flying High
10 - Arrete La, Menina (with Seu Jorge)
11 - Esplendor (Yann Arnaud mix)
12 - Train Station
13 - Lembra
14 - Cajui­na

Still some other tracks to help you discover Cibelle:

So Sei Viver No Samba
Noite De Carnaval" (Matthew herbert mix) (preview)
posted by SKL @ 1:13 PM  
Post a Comment
<< Home